Women and Shoes, and Understanding Stew (at least a little)

kaaayelll

A few years ago, I started playing ice hockey again after about 20 years off. Naturally, I needed new equipment (especially since things that were once foam were now dust), and the gear head in me was excited. I tried tons of stuff, looking for just the right gear. Generally, I focused on one piece of equipment at a time - skates, elbow pads, shoulder pads, gloves, etc. - until I found just what I wanted. My filter was, I wanted it to function effectively and I didn't want to be conscious of it on the ice. As time went by, I got my bag set - everything just how I wanted it. A funny thing happened, though. I started tinkering a bit - a different curve or flex for my stick, another color of the same gloves, multiple pairs of the just-right elbow pads. At the time, I wondered why I needed different sticks, more than one color pair of gloves, etc. The reality was, I didn't REALLY need them, I just kind of wanted them. Finally, in full-on justification mode, I realized, if my wife can have an over-price pair of shoes and pocket book for every mood and outfit, why shouldn't I have different sticks and gloves for how I'm feeling on a particular day.

Well, let's just say the same thing is happening with golf now that I've picked the game up again. I've always been a research-to-death-to-find-the-perfect-thing kind of guy. But, there's definitely a freedom in coming to grips with experimentation. Do I need a set of Hogan Apex, MacGregor VIPs, Kenneth Smith Royal Signets, Yonex Ezone, Yururi Flat Back, Miura 5002, and maybe a forth coming set of Baby Blades. No, but on those days I'm feeling a little raw, strong, refined, traditional, or masochistic, I'll be glad I have them.